Award Winning Books

Caldecott Medal
This award honors the illustrator who has made the best contribution to American literature for children.

Colorado Children's Book Award
The Colorado Children's Book Award is given annually to one picture book and one junior book. All voting is done by Colorado children!

Coretta Scott King Book Award
The Coretta Scott King Awards were established to honor excellence among African-American children's book authors and illustrators. The awards include the John Steptoe Award for new talent.

Newbery Medal
An annual award for the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Pura Belpre Medal
Given to a Latino or Latina author or illustrator, the award celebrates the best portrayals of Latino culture in books for children and youth.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award
An award for books in the beginning reader category that demonstrate imagination and creativity and inspire children to read.