The Weld Library District is a special taxing district that was established in 1986 under the authority of Colorado Library Law §C.R.S. 24-90-101 to improve library service to residents through the sharing of books, staff, and tax revenue. The taxing authority includes all of Weld County except the areas covered by the Windsor-Severance Library District and the City of Dacono. In some areas, High Plains Library District expands into other counties. In 2007 the Town of Erie’s Boulder County residents voted to become part of High Plains Library District. The major source of revenue for High Plains Library District is derived from a 3.249 mill levy applied to the assessed value of portions of Weld and Boulder County properties. The District serves over 245,959 residents of Weld County and parts of neighboring counties, and covers a geographic area of almost 4,000 square miles.

In July 2008, as part of a re-branding project, the Library Board of Trustees approved the recommendation to rename the Library District to the High Plains Library District.

The High Plains Library District is comprised of five branch libraries, bookmobile services and six autonomous member libraries governed by their own separate boards of trustees.


The High Plains Library District Board of Trustees serves as a governing board for the branch library system. The Board determines library polices based on District community needs. The Board works within bylaws developed to meet Federal, State and local requirements to insure that proper standards of operations and financing be maintained. The HPLD Board of Trustees is appointed through a selection committee. This committee is convened by the Board Vice President. In addition to the Board Vice President, members of the selection committee include:

  • One (1) additional HPLD Board of Trustee Member as selected by the Board President
  • One (1) representative from each of the seven Governmental Agencies that originally formed the Library District (Eaton, Board of County Commissioners, Ault, Hudson, Greeley, Fort Lupton and Fort Lupton School District RE-8).

Final approval of the selected member is based on the support shown by the District government agencies.